Food: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about what I’m eating in Korea. If any of you followed my Paris blog, you know that I usually can’t shut up about food. Well, I’m gonna level with you: I haven’t been too adventurous this week, and when I have been, it has not been rewarded with deliciousness.

Below is the first real meal that Alex and I had in Busan:Image

Image

On the right  in the first picture are pork dumplings, pretty standard. To the left is Alex’s ridiculously hot, fish Spam mess (those are the curly, noodle-looking things). My dish is the sushi, or what looks like sushi. It’s actually kimbap, which is the Korean version of sushi. This one was alright, but it has kimchi in it. I don’t care for kimchi. THEY PUT KIMCHI IN EVERYTHING. And if it’s not going directly into your meal, it’s always served on the side (the small yellow and red dishes in the first picture are kimchi).

A few days this week, I’ve had donkatsu for lunch (no pictures, sorry). This is a breaded pork cutlet served with a sauce that I’ve yet to identify, rice, and the standard broth/kimchi combo. I like this just fine, but it’s nothing spectacular.

What I ate today that was pretty damn good:

Image

Image

The first is the donor kebabs we found at the Gukje Market today. Are they Korean? No. Are they delicious? Most definitely. The second picture is a donut with a cinnamon-sugar layer on the bottom, topped with peanuts, sunflower seeds and some other nuts and served hot. I don’t know what it was called, but everyone was walking around with them so   I decided to try it.

While walking through the famous Jagalchi Fish Market, here were some things I did not try:

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

The fried fish above looked and smelled delicious. Everything else…not so much. But it was really cool to wander through and see what everyone was selling.

I’ve only been here a week, so I’m not giving up on Korean cuisine quite yet. I’d still like to try some Korean BBQ, and who knows? Maybe I’ll give kimchi another chance.

3 thoughts on “Food: the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  1. Yikes on some of those options. I might like them if they were aprropriately disgiused but couldn’t bring myself to choose them – eel? turtle? However the shell fish would be a possibility if they were cooked. (I assume pollution exists off of the Korean coast – even the good Korea.) But you of all people will have to give at least a few weird things a try. How’s Alex doing w/ the chow? Keep the photos coming …

Leave a Reply

