Jeju Island

The time has finally come: tomorrow, I finally get my five glorious days off. Things at work have been rather, uh, tense, though in the interest of job security, I won’t get into it here. Suffice to say this vacation is well-timed and I am looking forward to it immensely.

Alex and I will be traveling to Jeju, a volcanic island off the coast of Korea. Not only is it a cheap, hour-long plane ride from Busan, but it also looks absolutely gorgeous. There are many beautiful hikes, walking trails and natural sites to behold. In 2007, it was declared an UNESCO World Heritage Site.

My co-workers thought it was funny that I made a whole itinerary, detailing what I wanted to do each day. To that I say: I learned from the best. My dad made a binder, complete with tab dividers for each city we were visiting, when we took a trip to California when I was younger. Clearly, this has scarred/helped me in planning my own vacations.

Anyway! Our itinerary for Jeju:

Wednesday, 7/31: Arrive in Jeju in the evening; go to sleep around 7:00pm (see Thursday morning).

Thursday, 8/1:

-Seongsan Ichulbong aka Sunrise Peak, a (very) early morning hike.

-Yakcheonsa Temple.

Friday, 8/2

-Halla Arboretum.

-Yongduam Rock/Pond.

-Loveland, an amusement park of sorts.

Saturday, 8/3

-Olle Trail 6, including the Cheonjiyeon Waterfalls.

Sunday, 8/4

-Hyeopjae Cave/beach.

-Lava tubes.

Monday, 8/5

-Mt. Halla, aka Jeju’s piece de resistance.

Tuesday, 8/6

-Make a tearful, early afternoon return to Busan to ready ourselves for the grind of work on Wednesday.

We have three major hikes planned (Sunrise Peak, Olle Trail 6 and Mt. Hallasan) with a couple days of rest/wandering/beach time in between. I’d like to post about each day when I get back, and compare what we planned to see with what we were able to see.

I already can’t wait to share it with you guys. Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Jeju Island

  1. Have a wonderful time! Your Dad was pleased w/ the planning but a little disappointed about the lack of tabbed binder. However, I reminded him that you are in a foreign country and don’t have quick access to Staples!

  2. Pingback: Day 2: Loveland and Hyeopjae Beach | Tara In Korea

Leave a Reply

